Party time. Wooo

stoned lightningTonight’s the big celebration down at the SkyDome. Players from the glory days of ’92 and ’93 will be there in person, signing autographs and participating in some kind of ceremony.

When this was announced before the season began, I viewed the Back2Back as a crass attempt to draw people out to the ballpark when the season’s effectively over and the Baltimore Shitbirds are in town by celebrating the 16th and 17th (hollowware and furniture?) anniversaries of the team’s World Series championships, and I wanted no part of it.

So I jumped at the chance to spend the weekend hanging out by the Georgian Bay.

A strange thing has happened in the last few days though: I’m getting nostalgic for those teams that knew how to win and find myself kinda sorta wishing I could be there to relive it with them (And maybe even meet Dave Stieb!)

But I can’t. So I’m sticking with the party line that it’s a crass ticket grab and I’m going to drink beer by a fire.

I don’t and won’t regret this decision, but I do hope they do this again on a real anniversary (20, 25 maybe?)

I also hope that next time these guys are honoured, the Jays team of the time will be winning and these guys will really be honoured instead of being the bait on the hook that Rogers is trying to catch all of us with.

One thought on “Party time. Wooo

  1. “I also hope that next time these guys are honoured, the Jays team of the time will be winning and these guys will really be honoured instead of being the bait on the hook that Rogers is trying to catch all of us with.”

    I couldn’t agree more

Leave a Reply

