Pay attention to the game

BASEBALL/

When I’m watching baseball (or any sport for that matter) on TV, I’m watching to watch the game. Interviews during the game, with people who want to promote something that has nothing to do with the game, seem to be a necessary evil and I’ve come to grips with that.

Sometimes it can even be pretty funny.

What really bothers me about these segments is that a lot of broadcasters seem to shift their focus entirely to whatever the guest wants to talk about, and that means the game on the field is largely ignored.

I wasn’t able to watch the Jays game last night in Boston. So when I woke up this morning to the news that my Marco Stroodles had been beaned in the noggin, I went looking for the highlight to see just how bad it was.

Believe me when I say that I understand just how awful cancer is. I’m all for cancer research and the Jimmy Fund seems like a really good cause. It doesn’t bother me that they talk about it during a ball game or anything. But what does bother me is when the announcers completely ignore the goings on on the field.

Ignoring a routine ground out to talk about cancer research? Fine.

Ignoring one of the most dangerous things that can happen in baseball to talk about cancer research? Maybe it’s just me, but I think you can put the interview on hold for a minute or two.

NESN apparently disagrees with me on that point, because when Stroodles got hit in the head, they kept the interview going.

MLB doesn’t allow their videos to be embedded, but you can watch the NESN clip here.

The good news: Stroodles apparently suffered nothing more than a bump on his head.

One thought on “Pay attention to the game

  1. That drives me bonkers. I remember the Sportsnet crew interviewing whoever was in the Comfort Zone during Travis Snider’s home debut at-bat last year. Everyone in the Jays fan universe was talking about that kid at that moment… except SN.

Leave a Reply

