Twins win beautiful game

Twinkies!

After suffering through the Jays’ season, last night’s AL Central tiebreaker is exactly what I needed. It was easily the best baseball game I have seen in a long, long time. People call soccer the beautiful game, but it doesn’t hold a candle to playoff baseball.

Here are a couple of quotes I’m ripping from facebook that describe my feelings from last night exactly:

I would have suffered several nervous break downs if I had to watch the Jays play a game of this magnitude to get into the playoffs.

thanks, Twins and Tigers, for reminding me that baseball doesn’t have to be about mind-numbing frustration.

The authors of those quotes do visit this site, they can claim them in the comments section if they wish.
5 thoughts on “Twins win beautiful game

  1. Guy, let’s not have this break down into a sport v. sport battle, hmm? Let’s just enjoy the game for what it was — as I said, a reminder that baseball doesn’t have to be about mind-numbing frustration.

    • JayI have been with my boyfriend for alosmt 4 years. I’m 29 years old now and certainly not in my prime anymore. Last summer I went through an early mid-life crisis and decided it was time for our relationship to end. I had met a boy of only 20 and became somewhat infatuated with him. While my boyfriend (or ex at the moment) continued to live together, we did not spend much time together. I spent every moment I could with my infatuation and avoided being home. Long story short, my boyfriend and I are back together. We were officially apart for a month or so and what I realized in that time is that no infatuation or excitement of the new could match what I had with my boyfriend. There is a level of comfort that you achieve when you have spent so much time with someone. They know you often better than you know yourself. To be honest, the prospect of going through all of that learning process with the infatuation was daunting, and really not one I was looking forward to. After spending a month with that new boy I realized that no matter what, no one was going to match up to my boyfriend and I would spend the rest of my life wondering why I threw that away. We as humans are not perfect and as such cannot expect the product of two humans being together to be perfect too. Anyone who claims to have the perfect storybook relationship is delusional or is self medicating. To be honest, the feeling I get knowing that my boyfriend understands me and accepts me is better than any butterflies that I would get from the new relationship. Is life perfect? No. Do we have the butterflies and the excitement of that initial dating? No. To be honest, the first year of our relationship, though exciting, was hell. Constantly worrying if the other person is being honest, faithful. Granted this was all a product of a previous unfaithful partner, but they are still issues you have to deal with. I’m quite content yes content with my relationship. Is it storybook? Not by any stretch of the imagination. Can I imagine life without him? Only for a month and that was a miserable hell I don’t want to visit again.

  2. It was me who had the quote about the nervous breakdowns and .. it was true.

    Man, that game would have driven me crazy as a fan of any of those two teams.

Leave a Reply

