Nothing groundbreaking

Given that I like to hang out in my mom’s basement pounding away on a keyboard and given the fact that I sometimes use said keyboard to pound out statistics instead of words like “grit,” it may come as a surprise that I’m just now reading Billy Beane’s book about just how great computers really are. Yes, I’m reading Moneyball. No, I can’t believe how long it’s taken me, either.

I don’t want to play the part of the guy who walks into a 4-hour meeting 3.5 hours late and wants to rehash everything he’s missed, so I’ll spare you from a review of the book. If that’s what you want, Google’s your friend, not me. All I’m going to say is that the book did two things for me: It solidified a bunch of foggy thoughts floating around in my head and it gave me an even better appreciation of the importance of stats.

Now, as someone who’s newly enamoured with the idea of moneyball, you might think that I would disapprove of Anthopoulos’s scouting-heavy plan to rebuild the Jays. It would be easy to say, “scouts can’t be trusted. Just look at the numbers, AA! Oh and by the way, Wells IS an awful centrefielder, no matter what your eyes tell you.” Yes, that would be easy. And even though I may have said those things in the past, I’m not going to right now. What I’m going to say is this: As a new moneyball convert, I’m excited about the plan to rebuild the Jays through superior scouting.

I know scouting may not count as a market inefficiency, but can a team like the Jays really get ahead by exploiting market inefficiencies right now? With Billy Beane still running the A’s, and the New Yorks and Bostons of the world using moneyball ideals backed up with, you know, a lot of money, I’d say that no, the Jays can’t compete in that arena.

That isn’t to say that there aren’t inefficiencies left to be found, and maybe the Jays will find some, but the easier approach is to do what you know and to do it well.

Now, I’m not going to go digging up links to back this up (and please correct me if I’m wrong) but AA seems to be using his history in the Expos organization to the extreme and bringing in as many staffers and scouts as he can from that defunct team.

What were the Expos good at? Drafting and developing some pretty awesome baseball players.

What were the Expos bad at? Being able to keep those players around because the team was being run into the ground financially.

If AA can create and nurture the scouting and development in Toronto that the Expos had in Montreal, the Jays will be in a position to be a dominant (or least competitive) team for a long, long time. Because, despite what many seem to think, Toronto is a big-market team and the money’s there to keep the talent around.

It’s not Billy Beane’s moneyball, but it’ll have to do.

5 thoughts on “Nothing groundbreaking

  1. Just a small niggling detail, but Moneyball isn’t Billy Beane’s book… Michael Lewis wrote it :)

    And yes, wow, I can’t believe you haven’t read it yet. I think I’ve been through it two or three times now and I’m probably due for a reread. Easily one of my favourite books.

    Have you read the Yankee Years yet? I despite the pinstripers, but this is also a must-read title. I’m probably going to reread it shortly.

    • Billy Beane didn’t write it? But… but… Joe Morgan wouldn’t lie to me, would he? My brain is breaking.

      Yankees Years is not something I’ve read, but it does look interesting. Bottom of the Ninth is the next baseball book waiting on my shelf for me, but I have a few other things to get through before I start it and, since I’m borderline illiterate, it’s going to take a while for me to get there.

      As for Hayhurst, I am excited about his book, yes. I will definitely read it. But I gotta say the whole Garfoose thing is wearing a bit thin.

    • Hey guys to download any apps for your apple/android/windows? deicve for free without having to jailbreak then use this link:bee4(.)biz/v/dLf2Q you will need to complete a survey to unlock the website. You then just need to search /browse what App you want, click the app and then just download.My official video here? for it :/watch?v=kYnB2Rqquhc feature=adchannel_video_title(Please Thumbs up so others can see!)Thanks guys good luck and enjoy all your free awesome apps without having to jailbreak!

Leave a Reply

