Happy birthday to me

One year ago today, I threw up (imagery!) the first post on this blog. I didn’t start the blog with a mission or a goal of any sort. There’s no untapped niche of Blue Jays coverage in the blogosphere that I was hoping to fill.

At the time, I hadn’t really thought at all about why I was starting a blog, but looking back, the reason is pretty obvious.

Surrounded in real life by people who don’t really care about baseball (but are nice enough to humour me most times) and by people obsessed with soccer, I just wanted a place where I could unleash my baseball thoughts.

So that’s what I did. And while I didn’t make any explicit attempt to get the blog noticed, people started finding the site. While I admit to getting a little thrill out of it whenever I have a spike in traffic, I’ve come to realize that I don’t really care about that. All I wanted was a place to talk about baseball and the Blue Jays, and now I’ve got it.

I don’t want to go into making a big list of thank yous, because I know I’ll forget someone, so I’ll just say this: If you’ve ever looked at this blog, commented on it, linked to it or posted on it (Squizz!), thank you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Chris. Bookmark the permalink.

8 thoughts on “Happy birthday to me

    • I think they should acnuonne very soon. It was supposed to be September but they kept postponing. Follow Kuwait University official twitter account. They will acnuonne there so you won’t miss it. As for the TOEFL, GRE and GMAT, you have to submit along with your application but you can submit newer GMAT, TOEFL and GRE scores to the department you are applying to before the interviews.

    • I don’t think Curt would have much of a shot winning any election. Is there anyone out there who actually likes him? For all he did for Boston, still every Boston fan I know doesn’t really like him, they just respond to questions with something like, well, I’m really happy for what he helped accomplish for us, but he should shut his mouth because he’s an idiot.As for Moose in Hall, I guess it makes sense that he not get in if we look at his peers who will be getting nominated around the same time- Maddux, Smoltz, Glavine, Randy Johnson, Clemens, Pedro. Those are all guys who were incredibly dominant. Moose, as great as he was, just wasn’t in that league. While I have never thought much of Glavine, he does have the magic number and that’s what counts to get him over the hump. As far as Moose playing on the Orioles in the 90s and Yankees in the 2000s, that’s true that that probably helped him get some wins, but it’s also true that pitching in the AL East probably took away it’s fair share of wins from him. Facing at various times the Sox, Yankees, Orioles, and Blue Jays is not an easy task- far more difficult than playing in other divisions. This is the premier offense division and probably always will be.Side note: if Moose shouldn’t get in before Blyleven- should Schilling get in before him? Or before Jack Morris for that matter? Schilling’s got the 3000+ strikeouts, but he doesn’t have the win total of Moose or Blyleven (who also has more Ks, as do Clemens, the Unit, Maddux, and Pedro). He also has the postseason record, making him similar to Morris. If you put those together does it make him Hall worthy? I don’t know. I think right now people think he and Moose should get in, but in five years from now, with some perspective, I think people will answer ‘no.’

    • Ο/Η anonimos 1 λέει:kursare tha se pkaraalesw na digrapseis ayto to video giati exei prokalesei terastio provlima se mena ai sti kopela..de kserw pws vrethike sti katoxi sou alla tha se pkaraalesw na diagraftei..eyxaristw..

    • Good to hear from you Mike. I always know exactly what to write to get you to pipe up, right? Reasonable people can disagree on these rankings, but Syracuse did just lose AT HOME to Pitt by DOUBLE DIGITS. I understand the Kansas-Cornell analogy by we all know Kansas would beat Cornell 9 out of 10 times. That’s the definition of a fluke. Can we say that about Pitt-Cuse? I don’t think so. Let me see more and then I will adjust accordingly. As for West Virginia and Villanova, I’ve had them 1-2 in that order since October and I see no reason to change that right now. Nova losing to Temple in one of those crazy Big 5 games (where upsets are commonplace) doesn’t upset the apple cart in my mind. Again, it’ll all play out. I actually enjoyed Boeheim’s postgame after Seton Hall, even his potshot at the media about OOC schedule strength (at least the quotes were interesting and usable). Much better than the normal blah-blah-blah you get from a lot of the other guys. Bitter, the point about last year’s Big East is how it was the deepest league ever. Obviously no league was better at the top than those mid-80s Big Easts. If it makes you feel better the next time it comes up I will put an asterisk and a footnote making this distinction. Piratefocus,I’ve been beating the drums for Fero Hall as you know, but he is way too small to play center in the Big East. Have you seen the size of the postmen on the other teams? Big John is a space-eater and is useful in short spurts (alas, his knees have robbed him of the rest). Fero has to beef up big-time before he can hold his own at center for any reasonable lengths.

    • Oct. 22, 2012WHAT: Chicken for Children fundraiser for the Dr. Bill Lewis Center for Children fenrituag Nelson’s barbecued chicken dinnerWHEN: 11 a.m.-1 p.m., Oct. 31WHERE: Free delivery in Fort Wayne or pick up at Plymouth Congregational Church, 501 W.Berry St.TO ORDER: Call (260)750-8032 or email Rebecca Nix at . Orders will be taken until 500 dinners are sold. Dinners sell out fast so ORDER NOW!COST: $9/meal includes: bd Nelson’s chicken & Pit-Tatoes,™ green beans, bread/butter and a treat. **Great time-saver for Halloween night or enjoy for lunch at your place of work or home! All proceeds benefit the Dr. Bill Lewis Center for Children which provides forensic interviews of child victims of alleged sexual abuse.

Leave a Reply

