Here we go

Optimism may be dead, but it’s Opening Day and I can’t help but be a little excited.

As I commented over on Drew’s great post, the fact that optimism is dead is actually helping me with this season. When there are no expectations, it’s incredibly difficult to be disappointed. I guess in a weird way, Cito’s complete inability to run a team may have saved me from being an angry resentful Jays fan this year.

Case in point: The following is Toronto’s lineup that will face the Texas Rangers on Opening Day (via MLBastian)…

1. Jose Bautista, RF
2. Aaron Hill, 2B
3. Adam Lind, DH
4. Vernon Wells, CF
5. Lyle Overbay, 1B
6. John Buck, C
7. Edwin Encarnacion, 3B
8. Alex Gonzalez, SS
9. Travis Snider, LFPitching: Shaun Marcum (0-0, -.–)

There’s a lot there I could be upset about. But I’m not going to do it. I’m sure I’ll break down and get stupidly worked up about the manager’s moves (or lack thereof) before long, but right now I’m just going to bask in the glow of baseball happening for real again.

Go Jays.

A computer generated season prediction

The fine folks at Out of the Park Developments recently set me up with a preview copy of their 2010 baseball game. I haven’t had a whole lot of time to play around with it yet, but I did run a simulation of the upcoming season. I don’t like to put a lot of stock into these kind of things, but if you’re the sort of person who does, I’ve got good news for the Jays fans out there: The team’s simulated record of 57-105 is good enough for last place in MLB! Nothing like getting the first overall pick in the draft!

Other interesting stuff: The Cards won the World Series; neither the Red Sox or Yankees made the post season; Tampa won the AL East; and the Orioles claimed the wild card spot.

Conclusion: If you’re the type of person who puts a lot of stock into these kind of predictions, you might want to rethink your stance.

4 thoughts on “Here we go

  1. You got a preview copy of OOTP 11? Weird.

    How did you manage that?

    I’ve played OOTP for years…probably since about 2002.

    Do you actually play OOTP?

    • It’s all because I joined the Baseball Bloggers Alliance. Membership has benefits.

      I’ve never played it before today, but I’m going to spend a bit of time with it this year. How long you been playing?

  2. As I said in the first message, I have played it since probably 2002.

    I first found OOTP2 back in the day as freeware and then played for that for a while before learning that OOTP4 was actually out. I have since played OOTP4, V5, V6 and then it switched to years and I’ve played 2007, 2008, OOTP 9 and OOTP 10.

    I currently only play in two fictional online leagues, which are quite a bit of fun.

    In the past I was mainly a solo player and had some long-standing fictional leagues that I got into.

    I’ve never really played modern day leagues or with real players, it just doesn’t interest me as much, although I’ve always wanted to start a 1977 Jays’ franchise and see how I can rewrite the course of history, but never have.

    I actually might not buy OOTP11 though as it doesn’t seem like there is any HUGE improvements this year, although the game consistently gets better every year.

    However, if my online league upgrade, I suppose I will have to too.

  3. However, I do like to support the game and its creator, so yeah, I will definitely buy it, now that I think about it.

    Let me know if you want to know more about the game or have any concerns or questions or whatnot … Or if you want to give an online league a try.

Leave a Reply

