Bittersweet

Saturday afternoon I went to the Jays game and watched Brett Cecil do bad, bad things to the Baltimore Orioles. Brett Cecil is a bad man and I love him.

At one point during the game, I had the thought that I’ve had a number of times already this season: “How good would these Jays be if Roy Halladay was still here?”

I quickly squashed that thought because, damn it, Cecil was owning the LOLs and I should just enjoy the moment.

Flash forward to Saturday night. I’m at a party having no idea what happened in the world of baseball except that the Jays won and an Indians pitcher took a line drive off his temple. I’m a few drinks into the night and in walks Squizz, occasional poster to this very site.

Squizz: Chris, what did Roy Halladay do tonight?

Me: I have no idea.

Squizz: Really? Really?!

Me: Did he throw a no-hitter or something?

Squizz: He threw a PERFECT GAME.

At this point my face hit my palm and didn’t emerge for a few minutes.

Don’t get me wrong: I’m happy for Doc. But my initial reaction — and this hasn’t totally gone away yet — was a sense of loss combined with a burning why-are-the-baseball-gods-so-cruel feeling.

The word everybody is using is bittersweet, and it really does fit perfectly.

9 thoughts on “Bittersweet

  1. Doc is my favourite player. I am happy for every bit of success he has. I hope it continues enough that he can get into the Hall of Fame.

    Do I wish he had thrown a perfect game in Toronto? Sure. But let’s be honest, the odds of such a thing happening went up when he switched teams. The NL is a weaker league and Doc is proving it.

  2. Baseball gods? Baseball gods?! There are no gods, just your team’s owner. What happened to the old adage that you need to spend money to make money? And when are these “Moneyball” players going to realize, when you have a brick in a championship foundation you don’t rip it out and throw it away? If they’re not willing to spend the money, maybe they shouldn’t be allowed to own the “franchise”.

  3. As I intially said, the “business of baseball” is defined by your team’s owner and a group of 29 other human beings, whose self-interested business “reality” I neither agree with nor accept as final. When did we stop thinking for ourselves and become fan robots? For another view of baseball reality, why not take a quick peak at my blog? With work , I truly believe we can do better.

    • It’s true you have to spend money to make money, and that’s exactly what the Jays are doing. I think some people are upset with the Jays approach because the money the team is spending isn’t readily obvious on the turf at the Dome.

      If anybody in a position of power expected the Jays to be playing this well at this point, I think Doc would still have been traded. As disappointing as it is to say, the success this team is having is extremely unlikely to continue.

      So where are the Jays spending? On the farm. Toronto was one of the final bidders in the Aroldis Chapman sweepstakes. Toronto outbid the Yankee$ (!!!1) to get Adeiny Hechaverria. Toronto is rumoured to be the landing spot for Adonis Cardona. All this talent doesn’t come cheap, plus you need to factor in the much-beefed-up scouting department and the consistent reassurances that the team will spend on draft picks.

      The Jays are spending money, cliff1222, but the team is taking the smarter, longer-term approach to its investments.

  4. OK, but how about this old adage: A Blue Jay in the hand is worth two in the bush. I still say once you have a solid brick you don’t weaken the wall by getting rid of it. Sounds like sour grapes when you’re talking perhaps about maybe… THE BEST PITCHER IN BASEBALL.

    Sure you need to develope young talent to help keep a salary structure balanced and a team doing well; but that said, when you have one of the best you don’t discard it. It’s not fair to the other players or the fans.

Leave a Reply

