Eat them up yum

I’m back from eating cod tongues in the crisp ocean breeze and into the 40 C heat again. Too much to catch up on, so I’m going to go cheap and just do up a little list of things. Here we go:

• The trade deadline has come and gone and all the Jays who I was hoping would be traded have not been. However, Brett Wallace has been traded. Under almost any other circumstances, I’d be disappointed. But Alex Anthopoulos has earned my trust. If AA didn’t see an offer he liked, then he didn’t see one I liked either (unless there was any offer at all for Kevin Gregg.)

• But what’s this? Trades can still be made? Yes, we all know that, but John Lott’s got a nice little walkthrough on how trades can happen after the deadline. If you’re interested in procedural at all, you should give it a read.

• Habitat for Humanity is a great cause. I’m glad the Jays are supporting it. But when reading this, I got a good laugh out of the fact that there’s only one player given credit for doing any actual work. That player: Jesse Litsch.

• The Little League World Series is expanding replay to the point of giving managers the ability to challenge calls. Little league baseball: More advanced than Bud Selig.

• I am a big supporter of Lyle Overbay (to the point that I’m often called “Overbay” at work) but the Adam Lind-at-first-base era has begun, and I’m ready to embrace it. It’s been fun, Lyle-O, and I do still believe in you, but the Jays are undefeated with Lind at first and that can’t be denied.

Leave a Reply

