The Future is in Milwaukee

I have, for a few years now, referred to Shaun Marcum as The Future. I just realized that somehow never made it into this blog until now. About 30 minutes ago, I got a text that said simply “The future is over” and I knew immediately what it meant.

I’m going to miss Marcum’s dirty hat and wicked changeup. It should be fun to see him tear through the National League (and he will be great in Quadruple-A) but I’d much rather him make hitters looks foolish while he’s sporting the Jays uniform.

But things change, the Torontos still have a great group of pitchers and I have faith in The Plan, so I’m not going to freak out about losing a guy I can honestly say was my favourite Blue Jay.

So — what’s Toronto getting in return for North of Steeles? A minor league second baseman and nothing else. Sounds bad, but appearances may not be what they seem. I’m no scout and I won’t pretend that I am, so I don’t know much about Brett Lawrie’s game, but I do know some things about him:

  • Dude is Canadian. Shouldn’t matter, but I know it does to some people. If you care, you might like to know that he’s from Langley, B.C. (If you’re not from Canada, please know that Lawrie is not a local Toronto kid. There are thousands of miles between Toronto and Langley.)
  • Fangraphs had him listed as the No. 2 prospect in the Brewers system last year.
  • He was on the roster for Team Canada at the 2009 World Baseball Classic as a 19-year-old. He got into one game as a catcher, but didn’t get any at bats.
  • His aunt won a bronze medal in curling at the 2002 Winter Olympics.
  • His sister Danielle can throw a softball like nobody’s business.

That don’t tell us much to be sure, but maybe those good curling genes will come in handy at some point.

Leave a Reply

