A quick post on drinking in baseball

First, apologies for what has been a slow time in the Infield Fly world without much updating. For myself personally I have an excuse, as I’ve been on vacation in Toronto/Montreal the past week, taking in the UFC at Skydome and now back in the city to catch some Jays games.

However, while I am about to head out for some pre-gaming antics and today’s afternoon tilt against the Tigers with my partner-in-blog Chris, I wanted to share this quick gem.

I received a text Friday morning at 1:10 a.m. from a friend of mine, who apparently caught some Detroit players taking their upcoming series against the Jays quite seriously:

“I’m at a bar on spadina. Like 10 Detroit Tiger here incl. Verlander. They’re hammered. Hah”

Now I won’t pretend that the Jays themselves are all high and mighty and have night-before-game rituals that consist only of spending time with their families, saying their prayers, taking their vitamins and being in bed before 10 p.m., Hulk Hogan style. In fact, the afforementioned text-sending friend has also told me a bar the Jays go to quite often after games.

However, I would like to think that these players, who have multiple millions of dollars invested in them, aren’t routinely getting sloshed before they are supposed to go perform the quite difficult task of playing Major League Baseball. I’m not naive and I know partying happens and is likely required to keep players sane over the long haul of a season, but there are off days during a season for which such drinking days could be perfectly used.

We as fans invest so many hours and emotions into supporting our favourite team and maybe I’m in the camp of those who don’t think it should be too much to ask for the 25 guys on your club to show up to the ballpark each day without a hangover. 

The point of this post? I’m not entirely sure. Let’s just leave it at this: Drink up Tigers, because I’m in the city hoping for a sweep to get the 2011 Jays back on track and into winning ways. One game down with success (Jesse Litsch!!!), three to go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Cole. Bookmark the permalink.

4 thoughts on “A quick post on drinking in baseball

    • Maybe, but not sure why he would. He doesn’t really gain anything by doing so. At any rate, not a big deal. Apparently Verlander throws pretty well after having gone out boozing two nights previous.

  1. I was recommended this wensite by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him
    as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble.

    You are incredible! Thanks!

  2. Today, I went too the beachh front wwith myy children. Ifound a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to hher ear
    and screamed. There wwas a hermit crab inside andd it pinched her ear.
    She nedver wants to go back! LoL I know this is
    entirely offf topic butt I had too tell someone!

Leave a Reply

